Change Ups

Integrated Architecture named a top sustainable firm

October 20, 2012
Text Size:
Integrated Architecture named a top sustainable firm

Architecture Magazine recently named Integrated Architecture one of the nation’s top sustainable firms. The firm ranked No. 32 for sustainability based on its commitment to sustainability practices and projects’ green certifications. Factoring the sustainable commitment with two other measuring tools, business and design excellence and pro bono work, the magazine ranked Integrated Architecture 64th in the nation. The ratings are based on a 46-question survey. Integrated Architecture employs 50, 13 of whom are LEED-accredited professionals.


Echelbarger, Himebaugh, Tamm & Co. PC announced the addition of Benjamin J. Kamps, staff accountant.


URS Corp. announced the promotions of Michael T. DeVries and Sean. N. Kelsch to vice president.


The American Marketing Association of West Michigan announced its 2012-13 board of directors: president, Lisa Young; president elect, Jason Dodge; secretary, Shannon Cunningham; treasurer, Sue Huyck; finance chair, Carrie Brown; programming chair, Rebecca Dutcher; membership chair, Rick Overway; collegiate relations chair, Erin Patrick; technology chair, Haley Barrett; communications chair, Nicole Huston; VP, volunteers, Kristen Meyers-Chapman; VP, special events, Jaime Beckstrom; and VP, logistics, Alexandra Roy.

NALS, the association for legal professionals, announced the election of Sandy J. Lavender as Region 3 director. Lavender will serve as liaison between NALS and members within her region, which encompasses Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio and West Virginia. She is responsible for coordinating all regional educational programs and communication through state and chapter leaders.


Grand Rapids Civic Theatre awarded Dan Smigiel the Floodie Award, Eric Hatch the Kopka Award, and Gary Walker the Mitchell Award at its annual volunteer recognition event. Each recipient was chosen for their outstanding dedication to the organization. GRCT also recognized nearly 100 volunteers for donating their time in increments of 250, 350, 500 or 750 hours each.


Birgit Klohs, CEO of The Right Place Inc., was honored with the Haworth College of Business Outstanding Alumni Achievement Award at Western Michigan University’s Schneider Hall. It is the highest award for alumni career achievement the College of Business bestows.

TheYWCA West Central Michigan announced its 2012 Tribute! Award honorees: advocacy, Mary Seeger, former dean of GVSU; arts, Elaine Dalcher, artist, educator and co-creator of Tanglefoot Studios; industry and labor, Kathy Crosby, president/CEO, Goodwill Industries of Greater Grand Rapids; community service, Senita Lenear, president, Grand Rapids Public Schools Board of Education; professions, Marge Palmerlee, executive director, Degage Ministries; sports, fitness and wellness, Maria Besta, manager, Wheelchair and Adaptive Sports, Mary Free Bed Rehabilitation Hospital. The student leadership award scholarship recipient is Lucero Miranda-Hernandez, Wyoming High School.


Lake Michigan Financial Corp. announced the addition of Leslie Lynch, senior vice president of shared services. Lynch is responsible for human resources, information technology, operations and marketing.


Custer announced the promotion of Todd Custer, son of founder Dave Custer, to vice president of sales.


Davenport University announced it is developing two new degree programs for its College of Technology: a master of science in technology management and a bachelor of science in digital forensics.

Grand Valley State University School of Accounting announced its accounting advisory board: Dan Carter, Rob DeGroot, Rita Grant, Jennifer Greenop, Pam Hoffman, Greg Johnston, Ron LaMange, Mike Lamfers, Tony Lawrence, Bob Lowry, Dan Lynn, Jason Marvin, Larry Obsert, Jim Roberts, Christopher Rosmarin, Jacqueline Schafer, Wayne Smith, Paul Spindler and Mike Stornant.


Brad Becker, Fred Iacovoni and Tom Small announced the formation of Synergy Wealth Management, an independent financial services practice offering comprehensive investment, retirement and estate services.

Brian Bakker has joined Adamy Valuation Advisory as an analyst. Bakker previously was a family law analyst at Stout Risius Ross in Southfield.

Charles Anderson, managing director of investments at Wells Fargo Advisors in Grand Rapids, attended the eight-annual Barron’s Winner Circle Top Advisors Summit hosted by Barron’s magazine to promote best practices in the industry and the value of advice to the investing public.


Roger Jensen, Spectrum Health’s senior vice president and chief human resource officer, has been named a Top 10 Breakaway Leader by the Evanta Leadership Network for changing the face of human resources and inspiring a legacy of excellence.


David L. Skidmore, a partner with Warner Norcross & Judd LLP, has been elected a member of the Probate and Estate Planning Council of the State Bar of Michigan. Skidmore, who concentrates his practice in trust and estate litigation, will serve a three-year term. He is one of three attorneys statewide to be named to the council this year.

Miller Johnson announced Jon Muth is one of five charter members inducted into the newly launched Michigan Chapter of the National Academy of Distinguished Neutrals. The Michigan chapter enables firms to identify a suitable mediator or arbitrator through its roster of local neutrals sorted by city or name.

Smith Haughey Rice & Roegge announced the additions of attorneys Jeffrey C. Kemperman, Nicholas A. Reister and Aubri N. Sheremet. Kemperman practices medical malpractice and has extensive trial experience including six years as a senior deputy district attorney. Reister practices estate planning, probate and trust administration, probate litigation, real property law and business law. Sheremet is a medical malpractice trial attorney who defends health care facilities and professionals against claims of malpractice.


Wondergem Consulting Inc. announced the appointment of Maggie Kennedy, public relations associate. Kennedy previously worked in marketing at Experience Grand Rapids, the convention and visitors bureau.


Gov. Rick Synder announced the appointments of Mark Eastburg, of Grand Rapids, Trina Edmondson, of Wyoming, and Matthew Weaver, of Caledonia, to the Michigan Council for Rehabilitation Services. He also announced the appointments of Marianne Dunn, of Grand Rapids, and Joseph Sibley, of Wyoming, to the Commission for Blind Persons.


Van Andel Institute announced the additions of Patrick Placzkowski, director of development for Van Andel Research Institute, and Anthony Thompson, director of development for Van Andel Education Institute.


Trivalent Group, one of Michigan’s largest technology firms, announced the promotions of Bob Nally, virtual chief information officer, and Clint Lake, project manager

Editor's Picks

Comments powered by Disqus