Construction, Nonprofits, and Real Estate

American Subcontractors Association names MCOY 2013 nominees

August 26, 2013
Text Size:
Is health care construction shifting?
Spectrum Health's Beltline Integrated Care Center under construction. Courtesy E&V

The time has come to name Michigan’s best contractor of the year.

The American Subcontractors Association of Michigan has announced this year’s nominees for the fourth annual Michigan Contractor of the Year awards.

The MCOY awards will be held from 6-9:00 p.m., Oct. 14, at the Frederick Meijer Garden & Sculpture Park.

Eight construction companies are nominated for the award: Elzinga & Volkers, Pioneer Construction, Christman Company, Dan Vos Construction Company, Erhardt Construction, Owen-Ames-Kimball Co., Rockford Construction and Wolverine Building Group.

“The level of craft and professionalism that these companies exhibit is outstanding,” said ASAM President Chuck Lane. “We’re glad to have such an outstanding way to recognize them.”

The nominees, named from a pool of 15 companies, were scored according to a number of selected criteria: quality workmanship, schedule coordination, bid ethics, practice, safety, job-site supervision, communication, project relations, lien processes, administrative procedures and payment terms.

Holland-based Elzinga & Volkers won the MCOY award in 2012, while Owen-Ames-Kimball won in 2011 and Dan Vos Construction won in 2010.

“We were thrilled to win Contractor of the Year at last year’s MCOY Awards,” said Tony Roussey, vice president of operations at Elzinga & Volkers. “We’re excited to be in the running again this year.”

Recent Articles by Mike Nichols

Editor's Picks

Comments powered by Disqus