Arts & Entertainment and Travel & Tourism

ArtPrize reveals Juried Short List

September 24, 2013
Text Size:
ArtPrize reveals Juried Short List
David Kail’s “Egg Prize” at Van Andel Arena is a finalist on ArtPrize’s Juried Short List in the use-of-urban-space category. Photo via

ArtPrize has named the artists and venues on its Juried Short List.

Each of the five jurors announced five finalists in their respective categories: two-dimensional art, three-dimensional art, time and performance art, use of urban space and outstanding venue.

Each installation is now in the running for a $20,000 prize.

“These eagerly anticipated short lists of installations and curated venues bring into being the tension between professional and populist opinions, which is now so much a part of the ArtPrize conversation,” said Christian Gaines, executive director of ArtPrize. “ArtPrize exists to support the ideas of artists and honor their courage, as well as to engage and challenge the community. It is the exchange of ideas and critical debate that is so unique to ArtPrize.”

A separate three-person panel will award the $100,000 juried grand prize.

ArtPrize 2013 Juried Short List

Two-dimensional art

Juror: John Yau: poet, critic, editor of Hyperallergic Weekend

Rick Beerhorst: Painting, DeVos Place Convention Center

Peter Crow: Three and Four: Red, Yellow and Black, Cathedral Square

Alexis Rockman: Habitat, Grand Rapids Art Museum

Mary Rousseaux: Series 28 Untitled #1, DeVos Place Convention Center

Kyle Staver: Europa and the Flying Fish, Grand Rapids Brewing Company

Three-dimensional art

Juror: Hesse McGraw: vice president for Exhibitions and Public Programs, San Francisco Art Institute

Daniel Arsham: Watching, Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park

Carlos Bunga: Ecosystem, SiTE:LAB @ 54 Jefferson

Cooley/Lewis: Through the Skies for You, Kendall College of Art & Design

Charles Matson Lume: The world’s an untranslatable language II (for Charles Wright), Kendall College of Art & Design

Julie Schenkelberg: The Unfounded Future of the Untold, SiTE:LAB @ 54 Jefferson

Time and performance art

Juror: Rashida Bumbray: curator, former curator at The Kitchen

Dance in the Annex: Angel of Repose, SiTE:LAB @ 54 Jefferson

Maurice Jacobson: Facing Al Aqaba, Ah-Nab-Awen Park

Arthur Liou: Sonnet 27, SiTE:LAB @ 54 Jefferson

Deanna Morse: Whispers of the Prairie, Grand Rapids Art Museum

Shahzia Sikander: The Last Post, Grand Rapids Art Museum

Use of urban space

Juror: Eva Franch I Gilabert: director of Storefront for Art and Architecture

Henry Brimmer: I want to be different … (ladder), Monroe Center/First Community Bank

Hanson and Feinburg: Temporary’s Pursuit of Permanence, Gillett Bridge

Maurice Jacobsen: Facing Al Aqaba, Ah-Nab-Awen Park

David Kail: Egg Prize, Van Andel Arena

JD Urban: United States: an everyday people project, Calder Plaza


Juror: Alice Gray Stites: chief curator and director of Art Programming, 21cMuseum

Auto Fixit Body Shop: 805 Ottawa Avenue N.W., Monroe/North Bellnap

Craft House: 40 Division Ave. S., Heartside

Grand Rapids Art Museum: 101 Monroe Center, Center City

Kendall College of Art & Design: Center City

SiTE:LAB @ 54 Jefferson: 54 Jefferson Ave. SE, Heartside

Recent Articles by Charlsie Dewey

Editor's Picks

Comments powered by Disqus