Government and Human Resources

Kent County commission fills vacancy and accepts resignation

January 23, 2014
| By Pete Daly |
Text Size:
Kent County commissioners fill vacancy and accept resignation
Diane Jones. Courtesy Cannon Township

The Kent County Board of Commissioners unanimously voted Thursday morning to appoint a new commissioner to fill the District 4 seat formerly held by Gary Rolls — and in an unrelated move, accepted the resignation of another commissioner.

Diane C. Jones of Cannon Township was appointed commissioner of District 4, and District 5 Commissioner Sandi Frost Steensma resigned.

District 4 appointee

Jones is a Cannon Township trustee and worked in the insurance industry.

The seat she now holds on the county commission was previously held by Gary Rolls, who resigned in December, because he’s facing felony charges for alleged criminal sexual conduct and evidence tampering. He had been on the commission since 2003.

District 4 represents the city of Lowell and Cannon, Grattan, Oakfield and Vergennes townships.

District 5 resignation

Steensma said her business, Parrish Consulting, is getting busier, and she has also just been named by Gov. Rick Snyder to the board of trustees for Lake Superior State University.

She has served on the Kent County commission for seven years and was its chair from January 2010 through 2012.

One of her company’s major contracts was the fundraising campaign for the Ray and Joan Kroc Corps Community Center built by the Salvation Army in Grand Rapids.

Steensma’s effective date of resignation is Feb. 1.

The Board of Commissioners has 30 days after that to select a replacement for the remainder of Steensma’s term, which expires Dec. 31.

District 5 includes Cascade, Lowell and Bowne townships and part of Caledonia Township.

Recent Articles by Pete Daly

Editor's Picks

Comments powered by Disqus