Change Ups

Change Ups: KDL receives leadership recognition

July 10, 2015
Text Size:
Kent District Library award winners
The Kent District Library won the Quality Leadership Navigator Recognition from Michigan Performance Excellence.

Kent District Library’s diligence to strengthen the quality of services it provides has paid off. The public library system, comprised of 18 branch libraries in Kent County, accepted the Quality Leadership Navigator Recognition from Michigan Performance Excellence, an assessment that recognized KDL’s sustained commitment to continuous improvement, the next step in a multi-year effort to document its own performance. KDL is the first library in the state to receive this recognition.


Hungerford Nichols announced the promotions of Jon Sytsma, Krista Koster and Carol Schachermeyer, senior managers; Jacquelyn Lightcap, Terra Muckenthaler and Tracy VanderHeide, managers; and Josh Cammenga, senior accountant.


The American Council of Engineering Companies of Michigan elected Steve Nichols, Fishbeck, Thompson, Carr & Huber, and Theresa Petko, AECOM, to its board of directors.

Nicole Cook has joined the Business and Institutional Furniture Manufacturers Association as marketing manager.


Consumers Energy field service representative Linda Falkowski received the Gatekeeper of the Year award from the state of Michigan for providing lifesaving assistance to a Muskegon senior citizen.

Gov. Rick Snyder presented 10 2015 Governor’s Service Awards at An Evening with the Stars at Meijer Gardens:Gov. George Romney Lifetime Achievement Award for Volunteerism, Lorraine Knuth; Volunteer of the Year, Debra Howe-Wierenga; Corporate Community Leader, Grande Mere Inn (small company) and Farmers Insurance (large company);Mentor of the Year, Tom Hickman; Outstanding National Service Program Award, Huron Pines AmeriCorps; Outstanding Volunteer Program Award, Friends of Grand Rapids Parks; Senior Volunteer of the Year, Clarenda Webb; and Youth Volunteer of the Year (tie): Cameron Doan and Hunter Gandee.

Plante Moran was named among the 100 Best Workplaces for Millennials by and Great Place to Work.

The Public Library Association presented Grand Rapids Public Library with the Upstart Library Innovation Award and a $2,000 honorarium for its DigiBridge project that provides library access to public school students.


ChoiceOne Financial Services Inc. and ChoiceOne Bank announced the appointment of Kelly Potes, president and member of the board of directors of both organizations. James A. Bosserd will continue in the role of CEO.

Macatawa Bank welcomed Kristin Timmer, treasury management sales representative II, in its Ottawa, Kent and Allegan county markets.


Private equity firm Blackford Capital’s McClarin Plastics LLC has named Jerry Armstrong president/CEO.

CEO peer advisory organization The Executive Committee announced the appointment of Derek McBeth to chairman (group facilitator) in the Grand Rapids area.


Elzinga & Volkers Inc. in Holland announced the rebranding of its professional services division to EV Group to reflect broader service offerings outside of the construction industry.


Grand Rapids Community College received Lee Noel Randi Levitz Retention Excellence Award for its three-week summer learning lab, FastTrack, which encourages students to succeed and persist through graduation.


Fleis & VandenBrink has hired nine new employees: professional engineers Jerry Powell, Joshua Redner, Kyle Paulson and Michael Mattzella; senior CAD technician David Donker; construction technician Scott Weber; administrative assistant for the municipal group Machelle Malik; planner David Bisbee; and architect David Gibbs.


Centennial Group and Principal Financial Group advisors Brad Beisiegel, Jacob Jewell, Amanda Pavlat and John Woodward have qualified for the company’s Pacesetter Early Achievement Award.

Douglas Stob has been promoted to branch manager of the Holland branch of Wells Fargo Advisors.


Holland, Zeeland and Hamilton community initiative Ready for School has named Donna L.B. Lowry president and CEO and also announced it received a $1.1 million grant from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation designated to evaluation, innovation and sustainability efforts.


Mary Free Bed Rehabilitation Hospital has hired physical rehabilitation doctor Kelly Conley Armstrong, who specializes in treating patients with cancer and related conditions, spinal cord injuries, musculoskeletal injuries and back pain.


Mika Meyers attorney Mark E. Nettleton has been elected chair elect of the PublicCorporation Law Sectionof the State Bar of Michigan, and attorney John H. Gretzinger has been elected a fellow of the College of Labor and Employment Lawyers

Miller Johnson member Connie R. Thacker has been designated a Certified Divorce Financial Analyst by the Institute for Divorce Financial Analysts.


Columbian Logistics Network announced all of its facilities have been re-certified as USDA Organic distribution facilities.


Automated Machine Systems Inc. announced the construction of a 41,250-square-foot $2 million manufacturing facility in Georgetown Industrial Center. The company expects to create up to 12 new jobs in the next two years.

Graham Irwin has been named president/CEO of Irwin Seating Co. Graham is the fourth generation of the family to lead the 107-year-old Grand Rapids-based company. Current CEO Earle S. (Win) Irwin will remain chairman of the board.

Vestaron Corp. in Kalamazoo announced its VST-006330-EP biopesticide has received a product registration and master label from California's Department of Pesticide Regulation. It will be commercialized under the SPEAR trade name later this year.


Varnum corporate attorney Michael Romaya was appointed by Gov. Rick Snyder to serve on the newly created Middle Eastern American Affairs Commission.


Byrum & Fisk Advocacy Communications has opened a downtown Grand Rapids office at 99 Monroe Ave. NW, led by Steve Faber, who will serve as West Michigan team leader.


O’Boyle, Cowell, Blalock & Associates Inc. in Kalamazoo has hired Paul Warnick, landscape architect, and Katie Chase, landscape designer.


The Detroit Red Wings have hired Bruce Ramsay and Ben Simon as assistant coaches for the Grand Rapids Griffins. Assistant coach Mike Knuble, goaltending coach Jeff Salajko and video coach Bill LeRoy will reprise their coaching roles with the Griffins.

Shelly Irwin, Kristen Zhang and A.J. Herbel of Grand Rapids, Ryan Leestma of Caledonia and Mary Eyke of Muskegon were among the Team USA triathletes who competed in the International Triathlon Union World Championships in Motala, Sweden.


The Channel Co., for the seventh consecutive year, has selected Open Systems Technologies to its 2015 CRN Solution Provider 500.

IT Resource Inc. has hired Craig Lowrie and Luke Jenkins, sales account executives, and Michael Peters, help desk technician.

Springthrough announced the addition of Jill Dooley, vice president of business development.


Frontier Communications in Muskegon has appointed Justin Clark general manager for its Southwest Michigan market.

Editor's Picks

Comments powered by Disqus