Economic Development and Manufacturing

West Michigan suppliers win Daimler Masters of Quality awards

August 20, 2015
Text Size:
Daimler Trucks
Daimler Trucks holds an annual awards program recognizing its top suppliers. Photo via

Commercial truck manufacturer Daimler Trucks North America recognized 91 suppliers, 11 of which reside in Michigan, as recipients of its 2014 Masters of Quality Supplier Award.

The selected suppliers are top quality providers of components and services for Freightliner and Western Star truck brands.

The annual program, now in its 28th year, recognizes outstanding suppliers that have received high scores on their quality, delivery, technology and cost performance as measured on a balanced scorecard.

The suppliers recognized “demonstrate an ongoing commitment to continuously improving the quality of their products and overall performance of their businesses,” according to Daimler.

Roger Nielsen, CEO for Daimler Trucks North America, credited the company’s suppliers with helping Daimler “improve our position as the quality and market share leader in our industry,” and “solidified our position as a technology leader.”

“The Masters of Quality award winners represent the ‘best of the best’ among our suppliers and their work is crucial to our enduring success,” he said.

Paul Romanaggi, general manager of Quality and Supplier Management for Daimler, said the company has increased its production volume to meet increased demand.

“Our Masters of Quality suppliers help ensure our success by delivering quality parts to our manufacturing plants day after day,” he said.

Michigan Masters of Quality award recipients

Flexfab LLC, Hastings — 10-year recipient

Hadley Products Corp., Grandville — 5-year recipient

Progressive Metal Mfg. Inc., Ferndale — 5-year recipient

Gates Corp., Poplar Bluff — 3-year recipient

GlassMaster Controls, Kalamazoo — 3-year recipient

Parker Hannifin Corp., Brass Products Division, Otsego — 2-year recipient

Borg Warner Thermal Systems, Cadillac — first-year recipient

Corning Environmental Technologies, Troy — first-year recipient

Eberspäecher North America Inc., Brighton — first-year recipient

Hirschmann Car Communication Inc., Auburn Hills — first-year recipient

Paumac Tubing, Marysville — first-year recipient

Recent Articles by Charlsie Dewey

Editor's Picks

Comments powered by Disqus