Marketing, PR & Advertising, Nonprofits, and Travel & Tourism

Public transit promotional pieces win national awards

October 23, 2015
Text Size:
Silver Line
The Rapid CEO Peter Varga, shown here with a new Silver Line bus, is planning the creation of a second bus rapid transit, or BRT, line that runs east and west. Photo by Johnny Quirin

A pair of local organizations have won national transportation awards for their promotional work.

The Rapid and Grand Rapids-based American Seating received the awards from the American Public Transportation Association, or APTA.

The awards recognize efforts in advertising, communications, marketing and promotions.

“These public transit communicators are truly leaders in their field, and we recognize their efforts to promote the many benefits of public transportation, said Michael Melaniphy, president and CEO, APTA. “And we are proud to put their creative work in the spotlight for others to see.”

Bus authority

The Rapid received two first-place awards, one for the “We’re on the Line” (category: print, advertisement - promotion), promoting The Rapid’s Silver Line, and one for the Silver Line map (category: print, system map).

“We’re on the Line” went on to receive the Grand Award in the print category. It was recognized as the best of the 14 first-place winners in the category.

“Receiving a prestigious APTA AdWheel Award is a very high honor that reflects the outstanding commitment to excellence and innovation of our hardworking staff,” said Peter Varga, CEO, The Rapid.

The Rapid is a public bus system that serves the greater Grand Rapids area.

Seat maker

American Seating was also recognized with an award for its promotional campaign highlighting “Listening, Designing and Investing in Public Transportation.”

The campaign was recognized in the business member category with a first-place award for community campaigns.

Award process

More than 500 entries competed this year in five categories: print, electronic, campaigns, special events and social media.

First-place honors were awarded in various sub-categories in each of four groups divided by system size.

Grand Award winners were chosen from those first-place winners in each group. 

Recent Articles by Charlsie Dewey

Editor's Picks

Comments powered by Disqus