Economic Development, Human Resources, and Nonprofits

The Right Place names board members

January 11, 2016
Text Size:
Lauren Walker
Lauren Walker. Photo via

The Right Place has appointed eight people to its board and one new officer.

The regional economic development nonprofit based in Grand Rapids said last week that it made the appointments to replace eight retiring board members.

The board members oversee The Right Place’s finances, strategy and policy and set the strategic direction of the organization.

The board also supports and engages in fundraising efforts and serves as ambassadors for The Right Place and the West Michigan business community.

New executive committee member

Mitch Joppich, managing partner, Pricewaterhouse Coopers

New board members

Doug Dozeman, managing partner, Warner, Norcross & Judd

John Irwin, West Michigan regional president, Huntington Bank

Dave Khorey, managing partner, Varnum

Bill Payne, vice chair, Amway Corp.

Lauren Walker, vice president of Manufacturing, Amway Corp.
(representing The Right Place/MMTC-West Manufacturers Council, two-year term)

Cameron Van Wyngarden, manager, Plainfield Township
(suburban representative, one-year term)

Mary Shafer, chair, Newaygo County Economic Development Office, or NCEDO
(representing NCEDO)

Rob Spohr, vice president of Academic Affairs, Montcalm Community College
(representing Montcalm Economic Alliance, appointed to a second one-year term)

Retiring board members

Doug DeVos, Amway Corp.

Jim Dunlap, Huntington Bank

Bryan Harrison, Caledonia Township

Peter Hungerford, ADAC Automotive

Bill Johnson, Fremont Area Community Foundation representative

Larry Murphy, Varnum

Chris Thelen, Consumers Energy and Ionia County Economic Alliance representative

Doug Wagner, Warner Norcross & Judd

Recent Articles by Rachel Weick

Editor's Picks

Comments powered by Disqus