Arts & Entertainment, Education, and Film

Library system names film festival winners

March 6, 2017
Text Size:
Kent County Teen Film Festival theater screenings
The Kent County Teen Film Festival screens short films at Celebration! Cinema North. Photo via

A local library system has announced the winners of its film festival for middle and high school students.

Kent District Library said last week a panel of judges selected 12 winners out of 50 submissions to the 11th-annual Kent County Teen Film Festival.

The festival screened the winning films and 14 other submissions at Celebration! Cinema North.

The contest invited students in grades 6-12 to submit 10-minute films, with each film being written, directed and edited by an individual or team residing in Kent County.

A panel of 20 of their peers reviewed the films and chose 26 to include at the screening.

Tricia Kannegieter, one of the festival’s coordinators, said the event launched in 2007 has grown since its inception, moving from an in-library venue to a 259-seat theater at Celebration! Cinema North — and it may need to move to a bigger space next year.

She said winners received “sizeable” gift cards to the Apple Store and Celebration! Cinema. The best director and best live action short winners also received either a scholarship or membership to the Community Media Center.


People’s Choice: “Don't Be Nice,” by Celeste Frank (homeschooled)

Best Live Action Short: “A Human Film,” by Kevin Cobb and Carson O’Brien (East Kentwood High School)

Best Director: Tanner Hamilton, “Voices” (Northview High School)

Best Actress: Madison Tasker, “Two Cries Heard in the Night,” by David Tay (Northview)

Best Actor: Luke McGee, “The Life of Paul,” by Luke McGee (West Catholic High School)

Best Ensemble: “Don't Be Nice,” by Celeste Frank (homeschooled)

Best Editing: “Sleepless,” by Jake Bieniewicz (Forest Hills Central Woodlands)

Best Screenplay: “A Human Film,” by Kevin Cobb and Carson O’Brien (East Kentwood High School)

Best Cinematography: “Dark Space,” by Maya Hutchings (Northview)

Best Documentary: “Our City,” by Brian LeClair (Nexus Academy of Grand Rapids)

Best Animation: “The Dragonchist (Act I),” by Ezra Moreno (homeschooled)

Best Commercial: Danny Gucci: “The Last Pack of Noodles,” by Caleb Rosses (Grand Rapids Public Museum School)

Recent Articles by Rachel Watson

Editor's Picks

Comments powered by Disqus