Arts & Entertainment, Nonprofits, and Travel & Tourism

ArtPrize names top 20 public vote finalists

October 1, 2018
Text Size:
Quantum Meditation ArtPrize 10 3-D entry by Julian Voss-Andreae
"Quantum Meditation," a 3-D entry in ArtPrize 10 by Julian Voss-Andreae. Photo via

After viewing more than 1,200 pieces of art, the people have selected 20 finalists for ArtPrize 10’s public vote grand prize.

The top 20 public vote entries will now move on to round two of ArtPrize 10, where voters can pick their favorite finalists.

The $200,000 public vote grand prize winner will be announced on Oct. 5.

A total of 27,913 people cast 222,786 votes for their favorite entries in four categories: 2-D, 3-D, installation and time-based.


The Two-Dimensional Public Vote Award is presented by Edward Jones.

Michigan Effect,” by Tom Gifford at Biggby Coffee Monroe Center (Muskegon)

Jesus,” by Mher Khachatryan at Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum (Cliffside Park, New Jersey)

Kings of Late Night (Medium: Duct Tape),” by Kerry Mott at The B.O.B. (Gettysburg, Pennsylvania)

The String Project,” by Chelsea Nix & Mariano Cortez at DeVos Place Convention Center (Fort Wayne, Indiana)

Mastermind America,” by Alexi Torres at DeVos Place Convention Center (Atlanta)


Our Time in the Infinite,” by David Stricklen at The B.O.B. (Ada)

Quantum Meditation,” by Julian Voss-Andreae at Grand Rapids Public Museum (Portland, Oregon)

The Phoenix,” by Joe Butts at Amway Grand Plaza (Oxford)

Dare to Dream Big,” by Chris Navarro at Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum (Casper, Wyoming)

Champions,” by James O'Neal at JW Marriott Grand Rapids (Bridgeton, New Jersey)


The Installation Public Vote Award is presented by Amway.

Cacerolazo,” by Saskia Jorda at Grand Rapids Art Museum (Phoenix)

Sonder,” by Megan Constance Altieri at Grand Rapids Public Museum (Grand Rapids)

The World Beneath the City,” by Cracking Art at Ah-Nab-Awen Park (Milan, Italy)

Oscillation,” by Ryan Swanson at Gillett Bridge (Tampa, Florida)

Abiding in the Shadow,” by Jeff Best at Amway Grand Plaza (Claire)


The Time-Based Public Vote Award is presented by DTE Energy Foundation.

Transcendence,” by Chris Callor at 111 Division S Studio D2D - The Harris Building (Boise, Idaho)

Moving Experience,” by #shangled at Grand Rapids Police Department (Sparta)

Animal Land: ArtPrize 10,” by Lauren Strohacker and Kendra Sollars at Grand Rapids Art Museum (Tempe, Arizona)

The Marvelous Musical Scientific Sight and Sound Machine,” by Jim Triezenberg at First (Park) Congregational Church (Grand Rapids)

Monsters Go,” by Aaron Zenz at Grand Rapids Children's Museum (Spring Lake)

Recent Articles by Danielle Nelson

Editor's Picks

Comments powered by Disqus