Human Resources, Sports Business, and Travel & Tourism

West Michigan Sports Commission elects board officers and members

December 31, 2018
Text Size:
Jim Horman
Jim Horman. Courtesy West Michigan Sports Commission

The West Michigan Sports Commission will begin the new year with some new faces.

The Grand Rapids-based nonprofit said last month it elected its board officers and board members for 2019.

The West Michigan Sports Commission secures and hosts a range of youth and amateur sporting events to “positively impact the economy and quality of life in the region.”

Since its inception in 2007, the commission said it has booked 719 sporting events and tournaments that have attracted more than 1.2-million athletes and visitors, generating $338 million in direct visitor spending.

Board officers

Jim Horman, Progressive AE, chair
Deb Kay, immediate past chair
Mike Donnelly, Amway Grand Plaza, vice chair
Bob Partridge, Grand Rapids Community College (retired), treasurer
Scott Bernecker, Merrill Lynch, secretary

New board members

Nick Davidson, Aquinas College
Tim Gortsema, Grand Rapids Griffins
Jim Jarecki, West Michigan Whitecaps

Returning board members

Mike Donnelly, Meijer
Tom McCall, Meijer
Brenda Borkowski, Steelcase
Emily Brieve, Kent County Board of Commissioners
Dave Hoogendoorn, Ernst & Young
Diane Jones, Kent County Board of Commissioners
Doug Small, Experience Grand Rapids
Ed Wilson, Country Inn & Suites
Peter Secchia, SIBSCO, emeritus and founding member

Recent Articles by Danielle Nelson

Editor's Picks

Comments powered by Disqus