Architecture & Design, Construction, and Human Resources

And the winner is …

September 11, 2017
Text Size:

It’s awards season for the West Michigan construction community.

Every year in the fall, we join as an industry and honor those companies and organizations that are performing at an “award worthy” level. The interesting thing about the West Michigan construction industry is that we honor more than just the beautiful buildings that we build. We recognize the men and women that build them, those that do it safely and those that construct them with a tremendous amount of communication, cooperation and teamwork. Here is an overview of the upcoming awards.


The American Subcontractors Association of Michigan (ASAM) names a Michigan Contractor of the Year (MCOY) at an annual awards gala. This year marks the eighth year of recognizing the outstanding general contractors and construction managers in Michigan.

The MCOY Award provides an opportunity for the ASAM membership to acknowledge the general contractors and construction managers who employ industry best practices, professionalism and collaboration with Michigan’s trade contracting community.

Candidates are evaluated for performance on the following criteria:

Bid ethics and practice


Jobsite supervision


Schedule coordination

Project relations

Lien process

Administrative procedures

Payment terms

Quality workmanship

The 2017-2018 MCOY event is scheduled for 5:30 p.m., Sept. 27, at Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park. Tom Izzo will be the keynote speaker. More information can be found at:

ABC Excellence in Construction Awards

The Excellence in Construction Awards recognize individual companies for their contribution to the construction of the most iconic buildings built in West Michigan over the past year. A volunteer team consisting of contractors, design professionals and facility managers tour nominated projects looking for quality, innovation and positive feedback from the buildings’ end users. Winners exemplify the ABC member promise to deliver high quality, affordable, safe and on-time construction.

The 2017 awards ceremony will be held at 5:30 p.m., Tuesday, Sept. 12, at 20 Monroe Live. More information can be found at

Craft Professional of the Year

The Craft Professional of the Year award honors an individual person from the West Michigan contracting industry who exemplifies both personal and professional excellence in their trade. The award honors individuals who demonstrate a passion for their trade, take pride in hands-on work and find fulfillment in a job well done. The winner is a master in his or her trade and has a commitment to excellence that is second to none.

Excellence in Safety

Construction is a dangerous business. Just recently, the West Michigan community suffered the loss of one of our brothers in construction. One of our contracting partners once said, “Safety is the one area where we are not competitors,” and I believe that to be true. We all have the right to work in a safe environment and the obligation to protect each other. The Excellence in Safety award not only recognizes companies that have best practices for keeping workers safe, but also the companies that truly believe safety is a moral obligation.

It is an exciting time for the construction industry. Get out your tuxedos and get ready for the red carpet; awards season is here.

Comments powered by Disqus